top of page

Find Your Hygge

I recently read two articles which sparked my imaginative juices. Paired with the fact that I’m in the process of moving house (think fresh start and a house flooded with sunshine), these articles got me thinking about how my partner and I could squeeze more minutes into our already busy days to benefit our mental health, and our relationship.

The first article by Henry Brydon made me realise that maybe I had more time available to me than I thought. Until now, my working weeks have generally consisted of work, meetings, gym, cooking, eating, tv, grocery shopping, cleaning and the odd brunch, yoga session or hike. Pretty standard and by no means inspiring.

Suddenly, after reading this article I felt like I had gained additional minutes, hours, days or maybe even weeks. Was it possible that I could spend a Tuesday evening in the country watching the stars? Or a Thursday drinking cocktails and watching a jazz band? Or maybe doing more than one yoga class a month? Could this extra time actually be filled with things I loved? The groceries could wait! Maybe squeezing more in would actually make me more productive. Do the laundry on a Friday morning at 5am so Saturday morning was free to explore! What was to stop me hitting the road and spending a night away mid-week? And, more importantly, why had this concept never occurred to me before now?

Camping, Mt Hotham

In the second article (have a read and find your own inspiration here) Helen Russell talks about how living like a Dane had the potential to make you happier. Considering Scandinavia already leads the way in my mind in terms of the design, sustainability and education, I was intrigued.

Already in love with Scandinavian interiors, it didn’t take much to convince me that Danes are happier thanks to the beautiful homes they create for themselves. Uncluttered surfaces and lots of plants...I’m coming for you! The article struck another chord when it made reference to candles and tea in the quest of hygge, (the Danish word for a bit of cosy me-time.) I mean, hello! I knew my collection of cotton-wicked soy candles and organic teas crowding the cupboard were going to come in handy! The more I read, the more this article reinforced what I was already hoping this new home would bring for me. A motivation to live a life centred around wellness; both physical, spiritual and emotional. Getting out and going for a run was to be a priority. And, in the same breath, getting out and enjoying the best new gelati in town would also be essential.

Life really is short. Leave work on time. Make time for the things and people you love. Find your hygge.

Snorkelling, Great Ocean Road
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page