top of page

MRI Results & A Direct Phone Line

I'm not really sure how I'm sitting here not losing my mind right now. To be honest, it seems very 'un-Lauren-like'.


After waiting seven weeks, I finally went and had my MRI. Standard procedure...the cannula went in easy enough and this time they hooked me up to a heart-rate monitor while they gave me the Buscopan. Watching your heart rate zoom to 120 while you sit still is a bit unnerving. Especially when coupled with the onset of blurry vision. It settled though and soon enough it was all over.


When I hadn't heard anything for a few days, I called the mobile number of a guy named Fabian. A gynaecology-oncology bloke from the hospital who had been chasing the medical imaging department on my behalf so I could get my MRI done sooner (seven weeks) than later (6 months). Thanks Fabian. Fabian answered and I explained who I was, what I was calling for and then I felt bad. He explained that he wasn't at work at the moment and it was right then that I realised why this phone number always seemed to have someone on the other end of it. You see, hospital folk are notoriously hard to get in touch with but, for some reason, when I rang this number, someone always seemed to answer. Now I knew why. I had been harassing this poor bloke on his personal number. He was at home, on a vacation, and some crazy girl was calling him about her MRI results because he stupidly gave his number to Chris one time when he was trying to get hold of me and, well, I saved it.


I let poor Fabian return to his holiday and was called the next day by the doctor who did my pap smear all those weeks ago. The news was mixed. My uterus looked fine, my ovaries were good and so was my cervix. However, that little lump they were investigating had indeed lit up on the MRI. I was immediately transported back to Dr Walker's office, early on in my treatment, when an MRI had told us that things were much worse than originally thought. Here I was again. While this particular lymph node seemed stable (it had apparently shown up on MRIs since 2019), a biopsy would let us know for certain what was happening.


So here I am, not losing my mind, waiting for the hospital to schedule a biopsy of a lymph node. As they say...it's probably nothing.



Comentários


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page