top of page

QCH Day 2: A Hospital Holiday

The day started well enough with Frankie having a little sleep in. She woke up calmly enough, with incredible bed hair, but was on the verge of upset very quickly. Pissed I think that she was not in her own four walls. Before long she was in full blown hysterics. Chris had gone home to work and I could feel my frustration rising as she screamed in my ear while I paced the halls. Her tape needed replacing so that was an extra drama. When it needed doing a second time I asked the nurse for different tape. That 'sensitive skin' crap could bite me. I bopped Frankie up and down as I tried to get the roll of tape from the box. The scissors dropped onto the lino, quickly followed by the tape. In slow motion I watched metres and metres of it unravel onto the floor, wrapping around my leg as well as Frankie's pump and feeding line as it went. As I frustratedly tried to free us from the tangle of tape I felt the tape run through my fingers, paper cutting deeply in two places. Frankie continued to scream and I started bawling. The poor nurse didn't know what to do with herself when she walked in to me sobbing because I dropped the damn roll of tape.

Thankfully the day improved from there. An exhausted baby fell asleep in my arms while I spoke with her team of doctors, mum arrived and Frankie smiled with excessive glee when she woke up to see Nanny sitting next to her. We lunched. We played. We walked around looking at the monkeys and birds plastered on the walls. I made friends with another mum going through hell and by 6pm, Chris had arrived ready to do another night in charge.


Comments


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page