top of page

Fruit-free Bliss Balls


Fancy an afternoon treat without the high-sugar content? Most bliss balls getting around are full of dates or other dried fruit, just like my delicious Apricot Bliss Balls. But if you're on the 'quitting sugar' bandwagon, or simply fancy a less fructose-heavy 3pm snack, these are just the thing. With only two tablespoons of rice malt syrup throughout the 24 balls, and adapted from the I Quit Sugar site, you may even be tempted to have two!​​

For a bit of fun I entered the ingredients for these Fruit-Free Bliss Balls in the My Fitness Pal app. Let's just say I'm happy that I don't count calories because I'd never eat peanut butter again. I stand by the fact that not all calories are created equal and at 97 calories per ball, that's 97 calories of pure goodness.

Ingredients

1 cup mixed nuts (130g)*

1 cup oats (90g)

1/4 cup cacao powder (20g)

1 tbsp chocolate protein powder (10g)**

1 tsp cinnamon

2/3 cup peanut butter (150g)

2 tbsp rice malt syrup (50g)

2-3 tbsp unsweetened almond milk

desiccated coconut (for rolling)


Method

Place nuts and oats in food processor and process until coarsely chopped. Place nuts and oats in a bowl and stir in cacao powder, cinnamon, protein powder and salt. In a separate bowl combine syrup and nut butter. Add syrup and nut mixture to dry ingredients. Combine with hands. Gradually add almond milk until mixture comes together. Form into bite-size balls and roll in coconut. Store in fridge.

Serves 24.

Recipe adapted from I Quit Sugar.

*I used 50g cashews and 80g almonds

**Chocolate or vanilla protein powder will work. Just make sure it's pea protein, not whey protein, if you want these bliss balls to remain vegan.



RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page