top of page

Peanut Butter

When I purchased a Vitamix I stalked the internet and found an abundance of recipes for homemade peanut butter. Roasted, raw, maple syrup flavoured, salted, cacao-filled, whole nuts, peeled nuts...it was overwhelming. I tried multiple recipes with varying levels of success. Too dry, too chunky, too much effort etc etc. Eventually I purchased the cheapest nuts I could find (pre-crushed homebrand peanuts), poured them into the Vitamix and turned it on. No roasting, no additives, and it was the best peanut butter I had ever created. I use it in everything! Dolloped on smoothie bowls and oats for breakfast, smeared on dates for dessert. Cookies, muesli bars, vegan slice, brownies and granola are just the beginning of ways I use peanut butter. Daily.


Ingredients

600g crushed peanuts

Method

Pour peanuts into the Vitamix, or other high-powered blender. Turn to variable 1 (low) before slowly increasing speed to variable 10 (high). Use tamper to continually push nuts into blades. Continue for approximately two minutes or until completely smooth. The heat of the blades will warm the nuts and release their oils, allowing the butter to flow freely around the blades.

Store in an airtight container in the pantry.


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page